Speedway Media News and Bits NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

NASCAR News and Notes 8-04-2010.

  • We will see a new and improved track this weekend at Watkins Glen.

Several significant track improvement await drives at Watkins Glen for this weekends’, Helluva Good! Sour Cream Dips at the Glen. These improvements have come during the off-season, which included paving over gravel traps, installing SAFER barriers, new run-off areas, and rumble strips in specific places.

In turn 5 (known as the Carousel) we will see a new run-off area, rumble strip and adjusted guardrail, in turn 7 we will see a new SAFER barrier, run-off area, rumble strip and partially paved gravel trap, and finally in turn 6 we will see a new SAFER barrier on the drivers right side, plus a paved-over gravel trap, in the inner loop.

American Muscle

These changes have come inpart, due to an incident last year with Jeff Gordon, Sam hornish Jr., Kasey Kahne, Joey Logano, Jeff Burton, and Andy Lally, who were involved in a frighting crash in turn 5 the Carousel, last year. During a tire test earlier this season, Gordan had this to say of the track. “I love what they have done with the pavement.” “I think you’re going to see a race that is more entertaining because we don’t have to sit there and pull cars out of the sand trap”.

  • There will be several Milestones at this weeks race at the Glen.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. will make his 500th national-series start Sunday at Watkins Glen. All of them are in the NASCAR Sprint Cup and NASCAR Nationwide Series competitions. He has 384 in the former and 115 in latter. Earnhardt is also a two-time NASCAR Nationwide Series Champion in 1998and ’99.

Also, Kurt Busch will make his 350th series start Sunday. Whiles Martin Truex Jr. will make his 175th Series start.

  • Watkins Glen to celebrate Silver Anniversary.

This weekend will mark the 25th consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup Series event at Watkins Glen. The Glen’s first race was in 1957, won by NASCAR Hall of Fame nominee Buck Baker,  who won from the pole. the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series didn’t return again until 1964 and 1965. Billy Wade won the race in 1964, and Marvin Panch in 1965.

  • Driver’s Currently in the Chase and those n the Bubble coming into Watkins Glen.
Position Driver Points Points Behind
1 Kevin Harvick 3,080 0
2 Jeff Gordon 2,891 189
3 Denny Hamlin 2,829 260
4 Jimmie Johnson 2,803 277
5 Jeff Burton 2,757 323
6 Kyle Busch 2,724 356
7 Kurt Busch 2,722 358
8 Tony Stewart 2,719 361
9 Matt Kenseth 2,682 398
10 Carl Edwards 2,666 414
11 Greg Biffle 2,652 428
12 Clint Bowyer 2,564 516
13 Mark Martin 2,530 550
14 Dale Earnhardt Jr 2,435 645
15 Ryan Newman 2,426 654

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here