CHEVY NSCS AT CALIFORNIA TWO: Chevrolet Wins 2010 Manufacturers Cup Title

Title is 34th for Chevrolet since 1950

DETROIT – (Oct. 10, 2010) – Tony Stewart’s win of the Pepsi Max 400 at Auto Club Speedway secured the 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers’ Cup for Chevrolet for the 34th time since the inception of the award in 1950.

“I’m proud of these guys, and just so thankful,” said Stewart, driver of the No. 14 Office Depot/Old Spice Chevrolet.  “I thank Hendrick Engines and Chassis, and everybody at Stewart-Haas Racing. They refuse to give up; they refuse to back down.  We’ll just keep doing what we’re doing here.  I’m glad to get Chevy the Manufacturer’s Championship and to lock that up today.”
American Muscle

Chevrolet won its first Manufacturers’ Cup honor in 1958; and this year’s win marks the eighth consecutive season that Team Chevy has captured the title (2003-’10).

“Chevrolet is very proud of everyone who helped in achieving this championship – drivers and crew members and team owners, engineers and development teams, and all of the hard-working professionals who support and contribute to what we do,” said Jim Campbell, GM Vice President of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “Every year this series gets more and more competitive, and that only helps make this championship even more satisfying.”

Mark Kent, Manager, GM Racing, was also very pleased about this accomplishment. “Winning the 2010 Manufacturers’ Championship in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is a remarkable achievement for GM Racing and our outstanding teams and drivers,” said Kent. “The competition this season has been as intense as any time in the history of the sport.  Many men and women have spent countless hours maximizing the performance of every aspect of the Chevrolet race car. Their efforts have paid off with this special honor, and will continue to net excellent results as we move toward the end of the season.  Congratulations to all of our Team Chevy organizations, drivers, crews, GM Racing and everyone at General Motors who contributed to this championship effort for this much-deserved accomplishment.”

With six races remaining in the 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup tour, seven different drivers have contributed to Chevrolet’s 16 victories thus far this year: Jimmie Johnson (six), Kevin Harvick (three), Jamie McMurray (two), Tony Stewart (two), and Ryan Newman, Juan Pablo Montoya and Clint Bowyer (one apiece). Johnson, the four-time defending series champion, has a 36 point-lead in the standings as the Series moves to Charlotte Motor Speedway for Round 31 on Saturday, October 16, 2010.

About Chevrolet: Chevrolet is a global automotive brand, with annual sales of about 3.5 million vehicles in more than 130 countries. Chevrolet provides consumers with fuel-efficient, safe and reliable vehicles that deliver high quality, expressive design, spirited performance and value. In the U.S., the Chevrolet portfolio includes: iconic performance cars, such as Corvette and Camaro; dependable, long lasting pickups and SUVs, such as Silverado and Suburban; and award-winning passenger cars and crossovers, such as Malibu, Equinox and Traverse. Chevrolet also offers “gas-friendly to gas-free” solutions including the Cruze Eco and Volt, both arriving in late 2010. Cruze Eco will offer up to 40 mpg highway while the Chevrolet Volt will offer up to 40 miles of electric, gas-free driving and an additional 300 miles of extended range (based on GM testing; official EPA estimates not yet available). Most new Chevrolet models offer OnStar safety, security, and convenience technologies including OnStar Hands-Free Calling, Automatic Crash Response, and Stolen Vehicle Slowdown. More information regarding Chevrolet models, fuel solutions, and OnStar availability can be found at

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here