McMurray’s Crew Tied for 1st Following Tissot Pit Road Win in Charlotte

4th Tissot win of season ties Gordon’s No. 24 crew

It was another double win for the No. 1 Earnhardt Ganassi Racing team with driver Jamie McMurray taking the race victory and his crew winning the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Saturday night’s Sprint Cup event at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

It was the fourth pit road victory of the season for the No. 1 crew, which moved into a tie for first place in the Tissot season standings with Jeff Gordon’s No. 24 crew. Three crews – Matt Kenseth’s, Kyle Busch’s and Clint Bowyer’s — are one win behind with three victories each. There are five Cup races remaining in the 2010 season.
American Muscle

Along with $5,000 going to the weekly winning pit crew, the team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race schedule will receive a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver.

In the event there is a tie at the end of the season for the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award championship, the tiebreaker goes to the team whose driver finishes the highest in the Sprint Cup point standings.

McMurray’s No. 1 Bass Pro Shops / Tracker Boats Chevrolet spent the least amount of time on Charlotte’s pit road during the Bank of America 500 — 284.026 seconds.

McMurray’s over-the-wall crew consists of: Cory DeMarco (front-tire changer), Doug Riepe (front-tire carrier), Chris Taylor (rear-tire changer), Adam Mosher (rear-tire carrier), Tracy Duncan (jackman), Benjy Grubbs (gasman) and Eric Hoyle (catch can). The team’s crew chief is Kevin “Bono” Manion.

“I can’t say enough about these guys this year,” said Mosher, No. 1 pit crew coach and rear-tire changer. “It has not only been a great year for the No.1 team as a pit crew, but just a great year for our entire team and organization. Most importantly we are really having fun at the race track and that is what it is all about. We work hard each week to build on the things that we see at the race track this weekend, and hopefully we come to the race track better for it each weekend. This has just been an awesome year, and we certainly hope to have many more weekends like the one at Charlotte.”

Crew chief Manion added, “The guys were great this past weekend at Charlotte! We didn’t have a whole lot of big changes to make to the car during our stops, but their speed and precision was still unbelievable. It was just a good, consistent night for those guys and I’m very proud of them for winning yet another Tissot award.”

2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Standings

Pos Team No. Pit Crew For Wins Prize Money

T1 24 Jeff Gordon 4 $20,000

T1 1 Jamie McMurray 4 20,000

T3 18 Kyle Busch 3 15,000

T3 17 Matt Kenseth 3 15,000

T3 33 Clint Bowyer 3 15,000

T6 56 Martin Truex Jr. 2 10,000

T6 00 David Reutimann 2 10,000

T6 14 Tony Stewart 2 10,000

T9 42 Juan Pablo Montoya 1 5,000

T9 12 Brad Keselowski 1 5,000

T9 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 1 5,000

T9 39 Ryan Newman 1 5,000

T9 2 Kurt Busch 1 5,000

T9 26 Boris Said 1 5,000

T9 16 Greg Biffle 1 5,000

T9 29 Kevin Harvick 1 5,000

2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners

Daytona, 2/14 Juan Pablo Montoya Team

Fontana, 2/21 Jeff Gordon Team

Las Vegas, 2/28 Martin Truex Jr. Team

Atlanta, 3/7 Martin Truex Jr. Team

Bristol, 3/21 Brad Keselowski Team

Martinsville, 3/29 Clint Bowyer Team

Phoenix, 4/10 Matt Kenseth Team

Texas, 4/19 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team

Talladega 4/25 David Reutimann Team

Richmond, 5/1 Ryan Newman Team

Darlington, 5/8 Jamie McMurray Team

Dover, 5/16 Matt Kenseth Team

Charlotte, 5/30 Jeff Gordon Team

Pocono, 6/6 Kyle Busch Team

Michigan, 6/13 Kurt Busch Team

Sonoma, 6/20 Boris Said Team

Loudon, 6/27 Jeff Gordon Team

Daytona, 7/3 Jeff Gordon Team

Chicago, 7/10 Jamie McMurray Team

Indianapolis, 7/25 Jamie McMurray Team

Pocono, 8/1 Greg Biffle Team

Watkins Glen, 8/8 Kyle Busch Team

Michigan, 8/15 Tony Stewart Team

Bristol, 8/21 David Reutimann Team

Atlanta, 9/5 Tony Stewart Team

Richmond, 9/11 Matt Kenseth Team

Loudon, 9/19 Clint Bowyer Team

Dover, 9/26 Kyle Busch Team

Kansas, 10/3 Kevin Harvick Team

Fontana, 10/10 Clint Bowyer Team

Charlotte, 10/16 Jamie McMurray Team

About Tissot

For Tissot, “In touch with your time” is far more than an advertising claim. This phrase expresses the brand’s DNA; its proven dedication to being perfectly in tune with the technology and tastes of each era. Tissot has been growing and developing its tradition of innovation since 1853. From the early days to the present, in its home in Le Locle in the Swiss Jura mountains, Tissot has translated craftsmanship and precision into stylish timepieces now sold in over 150 countries around the world. Special materials, advanced functionality and meticulous design detail join forces to create the luxury of accessibility. Today Tissot is a member of the Swatch Group, the world’s largest watch producer and distributor of Swiss watches, as well as official timekeeper and partner of NASCAR®, International Basketball Federation (FIBA), Australian Football League (AFL), Chinese Basketball Association (CBA), MotoGP and the World Championships of Cycling, Fencing and Ice hockey. The tradition of innovation lives on, keeping closely in touch with the times.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here