Martin’s Crew Captures Tissot Pit Road Award in Texas

Mark Martin’s No. 5 crew claimed the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Sunday’s (Nov. 7) Sprint Cup race at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth.

It was the first pit road win of the season for the No. 5 crew and the 17th different Tissot winner of the 2010 season.

Martin’s No. 5 CARQUEST/ Chevrolet spent the least amount of time on pit road – 305.658 seconds — during the AAA Texas 500. The quick work by Martin’s crew helped the veteran driver post a third-place finish.
American Muscle

The No. 5 over-the-wall crew consists of: Kyle Turner (front-tire changer), JD Holcomb (front-tire carrier), Josh Kirk (rear-tire changer), Dion Williams (rear-tire carrier), Bailey Walker (jackman), Brad Pickens (gasman) and Travis Gordon (catch can). The crew chief is Alan Gustafson and the pit crew coaches are Mark Mauldin, Walt Smith and Matt Skeen.

“The No. 5 pit crew had a very solid week in Texas,” said Mauldin. “The team performed above expectations. We had been trying some new things in practice. We implemented them during the race and the guys were very solid with everything we did. We did have one slower pit stop, which really wasn’t all that slow, but we backed that up with another 12 second stop. We were very happy with their performance and hope it continues in Phoenix.”

Four teams are currently tied for first place in the Tissot season standings. The leaders are the crews for Matt Kenseth, Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch and Jamie McMurray with each team scoring four pit road wins. Clint Bowyer’s crew is one behind with three wins.

The Tissot season championship crew will receive a $105,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the over-the-wall crew members and driver. Tissot has already paid out $170,000 in prize money with $5,000 going to the weekly-winning crew.

In the event there is a tie at the end of the season for the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award championship, the tiebreaker goes to the team whose driver finishes the highest in the Sprint Cup point standings.

2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Standings

Pos Team No. Pit Crew For Wins Prize Money

T1 24 Jeff Gordon 4 $20,000

T1 18 Kyle Busch 4 20,000

T1 17 Matt Kenseth 4 20,000

T1 1 Jamie McMurray 4 20,000

T5 33 Clint Bowyer 3 15,000

T6 56 Martin Truex Jr. 2 10,000

T6 00 David Reutimann 2 10,000

T6 14 Tony Stewart 2 10,000

T9 42 Juan Pablo Montoya 1 5,000

T9 12 Brad Keselowski 1 5,000

T9 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 1 5,000

T9 39 Ryan Newman 1 5,000

T9 2 Kurt Busch 1 5,000

T9 26 Boris Said 1 5,000

T9 16 Greg Biffle 1 5,000

T9 29 Kevin Harvick 1 5,000

T9 5 Mark Martin 1 5,000

2010 Tissot Pit Road Precision Award Winners

Daytona, 2/14 Juan Pablo Montoya Team

Fontana, 2/21 Jeff Gordon Team

Las Vegas, 2/28 Martin Truex Jr. Team

Atlanta, 3/7 Martin Truex Jr. Team

Bristol, 3/21 Brad Keselowski Team

Martinsville, 3/29 Clint Bowyer Team

Phoenix, 4/10 Matt Kenseth Team

Texas, 4/19 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Team

Talladega 4/25 David Reutimann Team

Richmond, 5/1 Ryan Newman Team

Darlington, 5/8 Jamie McMurray Team

Dover, 5/16 Matt Kenseth Team

Charlotte, 5/30 Jeff Gordon Team

Pocono, 6/6 Kyle Busch Team

Michigan, 6/13 Kurt Busch Team

Sonoma, 6/20 Boris Said Team

Loudon, 6/27 Jeff Gordon Team

Daytona, 7/3 Jeff Gordon Team

Chicago, 7/10 Jamie McMurray Team

Indianapolis, 7/25 Jamie McMurray Team

Pocono, 8/1 Greg Biffle Team

Watkins Glen, 8/8 Kyle Busch Team

Michigan, 8/15 Tony Stewart Team

Bristol, 8/21 David Reutimann Team

Atlanta, 9/5 Tony Stewart Team

Richmond, 9/11 Matt Kenseth Team

Loudon, 9/19 Clint Bowyer Team

Dover, 9/26 Kyle Busch Team

Kansas, 10/3 Kevin Harvick Team

Fontana, 10/10 Clint Bowyer Team

Charlotte, 10/16 Jamie McMurray Team

Martinsville, 10/24 Kyle Busch Team

Talladega, 10/31 Matt Kenseth Team

Texas, 11/7 Mark Martin Team

About Tissot

For Tissot, “In touch with your time” is far more than an advertising claim. This phrase expresses the brand’s DNA; its proven dedication to being perfectly in tune with the technology and tastes of each era. Tissot has been growing and developing its tradition of innovation since 1853. From the early days to the present, in its home in Le Locle in the Swiss Jura mountains, Tissot has translated craftsmanship and precision into stylish timepieces now sold in over 150 countries around the world. Special materials, advanced functionality and meticulous design detail join forces to create the luxury of accessibility. Today Tissot is a member of the Swatch Group, the world’s largest watch producer and distributor of Swiss watches, as well as official timekeeper and partner of NASCAR®, International Basketball Federation (FIBA), Australian Football League (AFL), Chinese Basketball Association (CBA), MotoGP and the World Championships of Cycling, Fencing and Ice hockey. The tradition of innovation lives on, keeping closely in touch with the times.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here