Busch wins the Ford 300 as Keselowski and Joe Gibbs Racing are crowned champs

Kyle Busch and Kevin Harvick fought back and forth all day for the lead. However, after Busch took the lead with 22 to go, he never looked back as he got his second win of the weekend.

[media-credit name=”CIA Stock Photo” align=”alignleft” width=”300″][/media-credit]The win marked his record-setting 13th Nationwide win of the season and 43rd of his career.

The win also gave Joe Gibbs Racing their third owner’s championship in a row.

American Muscle

“I don’t know,” Busch said about putting it in perspective. “You don’t right now. You just keep doing it and enjoying it.”

Harvick came home second.

“I didn’t want to see it,” Harvick said of the final restart. “Once you get the lead, it’s fun to get that clean air. We were already getting tight and once we got to that point, we just got real too tight.”

Keselowski finished third after already clinching the champion two weeks earlier.

“It’s just so special,” Keselowski said. “It’s not just for me, but for everybody that works on these cars and supports us.”

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. finished fourth to win the Rookie of the Year Title after struggling at the beginning of the season.

“It’s awesome,” Stenhouse Jr. said. “It’s been a tough season and to get it turned around, it’s pretty cool.”

Trevor Bayne rounded out the top five for his first top five with Roush-Fenway Racing.

“This is exciting as we get to go into the off-season now knowing we’re a top five,” Bayne said. “We had to fight back after getting in the wall.”

Pole sitter Joey Logano finished seventh.

Meanwhile, Danica Patrick scored his first top 20 finish in NASCAR and first finish on the lead lap after starting fifth.

“Why am I so upset?” Patrick asked herself afterwards. “‘Cause I was working my ass off to try to get by that 09 car and I couldn’t get by. I’m not contending for wins so I’ve got to find the little victories and I’m mad. We qualified really well and there are a lot of positives, but I’m still mad.”

The teams will have their banquet this Monday at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel to celebrate their accomplishments. The top five drivers and teams from the Nationwide Series will be joined by the top five drivers and teams from the NASCAR Camping World Series for the second straight year. Those top five drivers in both series will be featured on stage, while positions sixth-10th will be recognized for their accomplishments.

Also, for the second consecutive year, SPEED personalities Rick Allen and Krista Voda will host the banquet. Additionally, comedian Tom Papa will entertain the crowed.

The banquet will air on SPEED on Friday December 3, 2010 from 7:00pm-9:00pm EST as a lead-in to the NASCAR Sprint Cup Awards Banquet, also on SPEED.

Then in 90 days, the Nationwide Series will begin the 2011 season with the season-opener at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday February 19th.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here