Roush Fenway Advance – Daytona

Roush Fenway Advance – Daytona Daytona International Speedway, 2.5-mile Coke Zero 400 Sun 7.2.11, 7:30 p.m. EDT TNT, MRN, Sirius 90

David Ragan, No. 6 UPS Ford Greg Biffl e, No. 16 3M Ford Matt Kenseth, No. 17 Affliction LIve Fast Ford Carl Edwards, No. 99 Subway Ford

Subway Jalapeno 250 Sat. 7.1.11, 7:30 p.m. EDT ESPN TV, MRN, Sirius 90
American Muscle

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., No. 6 Ford Trevor Bayne No. 16 Ford Carl Edwards, No. 60 Subway Ford

Roush Fenway Looks to Light Up the Sky in Daytona After battling road courses across the country, Roush Feneway and NASCAR makes their first return trip of the season, heading back to Daytona where the 2011 season kicked off in February.

Summer Time in Daytona Roush Fenway has won four times in the Cup Series at Daytona, with three of the wins coming in the summer race. Jeff Burton was the first Roush Fenway driver to break into the win column at Daytona, taking home the checkered flag in 2000. Greg Biffle did the honors again for Roush Fenway in 2003 and Jamie McMurray won at DIS under the lights in July of 2007. Roush Fenway’s other DIS win came via Matt Kenseth’s 2009 Daytona 500 victory.  Mark Martin won the pole at Daytona at the organization’s second summer start at DIS in 1989.

Roush Fenway Sprint Cup at Daytona Roush has made 163 Sprint Cup starts at DIS, winning four times, while running to 31 top fives and 57 top 10s. Roush Fenway has completed 92.3 percent of its 27,218 laps attempted in Cup action at DIS, while averaging an 20.9 finishing spot.

Looking For Win No. 1 Despite 118 wins in the Nationwide Series, Roush Fenway is still looking for its first NNS win at Daytona. Roush Fenway has made 61 starts at DIS, with 14 top fives and 31 top 10s, but the organization’s best finish at Daytona is second, (accomplished on three occasions, including last season by Carl Edwards.)

RFR DAYTONA Wins 2000-2              Burton            Cup 2003-2              Biffle               Cup 2007-2              McMurray        Cup 2009-1              Kenseth           Cup 2004                 Edwards          Truck 2006                 Martin              Truck

Overall at Daytona In addition to its four wins in Cup action at Daytona, Roush Fenway boasts two more NASCAR wins at the track, via the Truck Series (Edwards ’04, Martin ’06). In addition, Jack Roush also earned 10 consecutive 24 Hours of Daytona sedan class championships, pairing with such drivers as Tommy Kendall, Scott Pruett, Mark Martin, Bill Elliott, Ricky Rudd, Kyle Petty, Ken Schrader, Robby Gordon, Lyn St. James, actor Paul Newman and Olympian Bruce Jenner.

Last week… Roush Fenway battled road courses across the country, with Carl Edwards third-place finish at Sonoma leading the team’s effort, while growing his Sprint Cup points lead. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., led the Nationwide effort with an eighth-place run at Road America.

In the Lead Carl Edwards used his third-place finish at Sonoma to extend his Sprint Cup lead to 25 points. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., is third in the NNS point standings; only seven points outside of first.

Follow us on Facebook at Twitter: You Tube at and at

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here