Roush Fenway Advance – New Hampshire

Roush Fenway Chases Title Into New Hampshire

After a strong outing in a rain-delayed Chicagoland weekend, Roush Fenway shifts its focus to New Hampshire Motor Speedway; where Roush Fenway has won seven times in the Sprint Cup Series. This weekend marks the second of 10 races that will decide the 2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion. Roush Fenway boasts two Chase wins at New Hampshire, including Greg Biffle in 2008.

Sylvania 300 Sprint Cup Race
American Muscle

Chase Race 2 of 10

Sun. 9.25.11, 2:00 p.m. EDT

ESPN, PRN, Sirius 90

David Ragan, No. 6 UPS Ford

Greg Biffle, No. 16 Ford Ford

Matt Kenseth, No. 17 Affliction Ford

Carl Edwards, No. 99 Scotts Winter Guard Ford

Roush Fenway at NHMS

Roush Fenway has made 201 starts across all three of NASCAR’s three major divisions at New Hampshire. All-in-all the organization boasts nine wins, 47 top-five and 80 top-10 finishes, while leading just over 2000 laps in NASCAR action at New Hampshire.

Chasing the Title

Roush Fenway’s Chase competitors led a total of 85 laps at Chicagoland last weekend, with Carl Edwards finishing fourth and moving to third in the point standings; 10 points out of first. Matt Kenseth led the majority of the 85 laps, but came up short on fuel on the final lap. He came across the finish line eighth, but was placed back to 21st (the last car on the lead lap) after NASCAR deemed he was ‘pushed’ across the finish line. He is currently 10th in the points; 24 points out of first. In addition, Roush Fenway’s Ricky Stenhouse Jr., continues to lead the Nationwide Series standings. He currently leads second place by 12 points, with only six races remaining in the 2011 NNS season.

The Win Column

Roush Fenway has won in all three of NASCAR’s major series at New Hampshire (7 Sprint Cup, 1 Nationwide, 1 Truck). Roush Fenway’s first win at New Hampshire came in 1997. Its last win at NHMS came in the fall of 2008 with Greg Biffle taking the checkered flag. A total of four drivers have won for Roush Fenway in NASCAR action at Loudon (Jeff Burton-4, Kurt Busch-3, Greg Biffle-1 and Carl Edwards-1).

Four In A Row

Roush Fenway won in the Sprint Cup Series at NHMS four years in a row from 1997-2000, with Jeff Burton doing the honors on each occasion. In addition, Roush Fenway swept both races at NHMS in 2004.

Dominating Victory

Roush Fenway and Jeff Burton posted one of the most dominating wins in NASCAR history at New Hampshire on Sept. 17, 2000, with Burton qualifying on the front row (second) and leading all 300 laps of the event en route to his fourth-straight victory at the track.

Roush Fenway NHMS Wins

1997-1 Burton Cup

1998-1 Burton Cup

1999-1 Burton Cup

2000-2 Burton Cup

2004-1 Busch Cup

2004-2 Busch Cup

2008-2 Biffle Cup

2006 Edwards NNS

2000 Busch Truck

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here