Darian Grubb Named The WYPALL* Wipers Crew Chief of the Race at Chicagoland Speedway

Roswell, GA (September 21, 2011) – Darian Grubb, crew chief for the No. 14 Office Depot/Mobile 1 Chevrolet driven by Tony Stewart has been named the WYPALL* Wipers Crew Chief of the Race following Monday’s rain-postponed Geico 400 at Chicagoland Speedway.

After making successful decisions and leading his team to solid pit stops throughout the day, the race for Grubb hinged on the final stop, which took place during the last caution period on lap 214 of the 267-lap event. Grubb knew that it would be a stretch on gas mileage, but he took the chance for fuel only in hopes of maintaining track position and coaching Stewart to conserve during the final laps. It paid off. While others’ tanks went dry, Stewart finished the race on fumes, and took the checkered flag as the winner.

“I felt like I’d saved enough fuel to get us to the end, but when we came off of turn two after we got the checkered flag, the fuel pressure gauge was down to two pounds,” said Stewart. “We ran out before we ever got on pit road, so we were closer than I wanted to be, but we had enough car to get us there, and Darian and his calls gave us the opportunity to get to the lead.”

American Muscle

“Darian made the call, then knew he would have to help coach his driver to conserve the fuel the team needed in order to make it to the finish,” said WYPALL Wipers crew chief representative and FOX/Speed analyst Jeff Hammond. “Now, the team is right in the middle of the title chase.”

After starting 26th, Stewart led four times for 25 circuits. The win was the 40th of Stewart’s career and first of the season, moving him to second in the championship standings with just nine races to go.

WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Results

Steve Addington, Kurt Busch and the No. 22 Shell-Pennzoil team finished sixth after conserving fuel down the stretch. Addington knew the fuel mileage would be close and preached to Busch to conserve.

“The key for us late in the race was fuel mileage,” said Busch, now fourth in the Chase for the Championship. “I knew we were short. A lot of guys were short. I told Steve to pack it (fuel cell) full and I would do the rest. To get a sixth-place finish to start the Chase is a good step.”

Paul Wolfe and the No. 2 Miller Lite Dodge of Brad Keselowski were masters of the fuel mileage game also and came home with an impressive fifth-place result after filling the tank during the final caution and taking on four new tires. The finish now puts the No. 2 team in sixth in the title standings.

“We knew that I had a face race car,” said Keselowski. “It really was a matter of trying to be patient and keep working on this Blue Deuce. Paul did an amazing job. That’s what makes a good race team. It was a good first step for us in the Chase.”

WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Voting Team

Addington and Wolfe, along with Hammond and Sirius NASCAR Radio’s Claire B. Lang, serve as the panel for the WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Challenge and vote for the weekly crew chief winners.

Each weekly WYPALL Crew Chief Challenge winner will be a guest on Lang’s “Dialed In” program on Sirius NASCAR Radio Channel 128 at 8 p.m. EST on Wednesdays throughout the season.

The crew chief with the most weekly top wins will be honored as the WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief of the Year and will be presented a $10,000 check during the weekend of the WYPALL 200 Presented by Kimberly-Clark Professional Nationwide Series race at Phoenix International Raceway on Saturday, November 12, 2011.

About WYPALL Wipers

Since 2004, Kimberly-Clark Professional’s WYPALL Wipers brand has been affiliated with some of racing’s top teams. Offering heavy-duty to versatile light-duty towels, WYPALL Wipers provides race teams with a number of products providing strength and durability. Defeating the toughest of challenges, from absorbing tough grease and oil to wiping down windshields without leaving residue behind, WYPALL Wipers continue to offer performance and versatility.

The WYPALL Wipers Crew Chief Challenge will continue throughout the remainder of the 2011 season and spotlight the men behind the machines. For more information, log onto www.wypall.com.

About Penske Racing

Penske Racing is one of the most successful teams in the history of professional sports. Competing in a variety of disciplines, cars owned and prepared by Penske Racing have produced 332 major race wins, 396 pole positions and 23 National Championships. The team has also earned 15 Indianapolis 500 victories. For more information about Penske Racing, please visit www.penskeracing.com.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here