Two in a row; Stewart wins and takes over points lead

For the second week in a row, Tony Stewart stretches his fuel and finds victory lane, this time at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway, becoming the second driver to win the first two races of the Chase (Greg Biffle – 2008). This was Stewart’s 41st career  and eighth victory with Stewart-Haas Racing.

[media-credit name=”CIA Stock Photo” align=”alignright” width=”225″][/media-credit]Clint Bowyer ran out of gas with two laps remaining, giving the lead and win to Stewart. The ending was similar to last fall when Stewart ran out of fuel on the final lap and Bowyer passed him for the lead and win.

“If that’s not a flip-flop from last year, I don’t know what is.” Stewart said. “I know exactly what that feels like. I know exactly how he feels right now. I saw him slowing down the back and I thought, ‘Oh, no, you’re kidding me’. That’s not the way you want to win it.”
American Muscle

Along with last weeks Chase opening win at Chicagoland Speedway, Stewart now finds himself in the series points lead for the first time during the ‘Chase’ since he won the title in 2005. He leads by 7 points over Kevin Harvick.

“It’s way too early to start counting chickens.” Stewart said.

Brad Keselowski finished second, Biffle third, Jeff Gordon fourth and Brian Vickers finished fifth.

Keselowski had his best career finish at the mile long flat track.

“I hate these fuel mileage races. We like to run hard and go. We had a really fast car that could have been second or third no matter what, but I just wish it didn’t come down to that. I would have liked to see how hard we could have run and see if we could have caught them.” Biffle said.

“I’m proud just to get through what looked to be a rough weekend with an awesome finish. I’m proud of my Miller Lite Dodge team. Getting the right adjustments in the car all race and doing all those things that it takes. It’s been a good roll.” Keselowski said of his second place finish.

Chase drivers Matt Kenseth finished sixth, Carl Edwards eighth, Kyle Busch 11th, Harvick 12th, Dale Earnhardt Jr. 17th, Jimmie Johnson 18th, Kurt Busch 22nd and Ryan Newman finished 25th.

“We had a fast car all day. I was real happy with the car. Real competitive. Got to race up front. We had a real good car.” Earnhard Jr. said. “We had a flat tire that cost us a lot more track position and I had another flat in the last couple laps there. Just didn’t hit nobody or nothing; just had too much camber or something in the front right.”

Gordon he led a race high of 79 laps but had to conserve fuel to make it to the finish.

“I’m just glad we finished fourth. It is tough conditions to race in (saving fuel). I don’t think that we wanted to see back-to-back fuel mileage races like this, but, it is kind of the name of the game these days.” Gordon said. “There at the end, conserved fuel. It is something that we need to be better at. We did it and we made it and we finished fourth so we’ll take that. We made some gains in points. But, not necessarily overall to the leader.”

The series heads to Dover International Speedway next weekend for the third of ten ‘Chase’ races.


Unofficial Race Results
Sylvania 300, New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Pos. St. No. Driver Make Points
1 20 14 Tony Stewart Chevrolet 47
2 16 2 Brad Keselowski Dodge 43
3 4 16 Greg Biffle Ford 41
4 7 24 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet 42
5 3 83 Brian Vickers Toyota 40
6 27 17 Matt Kenseth Ford 38
7 26 6 David Ragan Ford 38
8 23 99 Carl Edwards Ford 36
9 31 42 Juan Montoya Chevrolet 36
10 17 78 Regan Smith Chevrolet 35
11 8 18 Kyle Busch Toyota 33
12 6 29 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet 33
13 18 31 Jeff Burton Chevrolet 31
14 24 20 Joey Logano Toyota 30
15 2 4 Kasey Kahne Toyota 30
16 9 56 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota 29
17 12 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet 27
18 10 48 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 27
19 15 47 Bobby Labonte Toyota 25
20 14 27 Paul Menard Chevrolet 24
21 13 43 A.J. Allmendinger Ford 23
22 5 22 Kurt Busch Dodge 23
23 25 1 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 21
24 21 5 Mark Martin Chevrolet 21
25 1 39 Ryan Newman Chevrolet 20
26 11 33 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet 19
27 32 38 J.J. Yeley Ford 17
28 19 0 David Reutimann Toyota 16
29 28 11 Denny Hamlin Toyota 15
30 29 9 Marcos Ambrose Ford 14
31 40 32 Mike Bliss Ford 0
32 33 34 David Gilliland Ford 12
33 30 51 Landon Cassill Chevrolet 0
34 42 71 Andy Lally * Ford 10
35 22 36 Dave Blaney Chevrolet 9
36 39 87 Joe Nemechek Toyota 0
37 35 66 Michael McDowell Toyota 7
38 34 30 David Stremme Chevrolet 6
39 41 37 Josh Wise Ford 0
40 36 7 Robby Gordon Dodge 4
41 43 46 Scott Speed Ford 0
42 37 13 Casey Mears Toyota 2
43 38 55 Travis Kvapil Ford 0

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here