Roush Fenway Advance – Talladega

Roush Fenway Rolls into Talladega

After sweeping the weekend in Charlotte, Roush Fenway Racing continues its championship march this weekend when the Sprint Cup Series pays visit to Talladega Superspeedway for the fourth and final restrictor-plate race of the season.

Good Sam Club 500 Sun. 10.23.11, 2:00 p.m. EDT ESPN, MRN, Sirius 90   David Ragan, No. 6 UPS Ford Greg Biffle, No. 16 3M Ford Matt Kenseth, No. 17 Jeremiah Weed Ford Carl Edwards, No. 99 Subway Ford   Strong for the Stretch Run Headed down the final stretch of the season, Roush Fenway leads both the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series point standings. Carl Edwards leads the Sprint Cup Chase by five points, while Matt Kenseth is only seven points behind. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., holds a 15-point lead in the Nationwide Series standings, and No. 60 NNS Ford trails the Nationwide owner’s points lead by only three points. There are five races remaining in the 2011 Sprint Cup season and just three in the NNS season.
American Muscle

Dominating Performance Roush Fenway turned in a dominating performance last weekend at Charlotte, sweeping both the Nationwide and Sprint Cup races via Carl Edwards and Matt Kenseth.   Talladega Victory Lane All-in-all Roush Fenway has won in all three of NASCAR’s major series at Talladega for a total of six victories, including three in the Cup Series, two in the Nationwide Series and one in the trucks. Two of Roush Fenway’s six Talladega wins came in 2009. Roush won its first race at Talladega with a Cup win in the spring of 1995. Former Roush Fenway driver Mark Martin won for Roush at Talladega in all three series.

RFR Talladega Wins 1995-1              Martin               Cup 1997-1              Martin               Cup 2009-2              McMurray         Cup 1997                 Martin               NNS 2009                 Ragan              NNS 2006                 Martin               Truck

Roush Fenway Unrestricted Roush Fenway has run a total of 332 Sprint Cup races with restrictor plates, winning nine times, while totaling 59 top fives and 117 top 10s, and turning over 40,000 miles with the restrictor plates.

Restrictor Plate Resurgence The Roush Fenway restrictor-plate program has been strong this season. David Ragan won at Daytona in July, with Matt Kenseth pushing him to the win and the one-two RFR finish. Carl Edwards finished second in the Daytona 500 and Kenseth won the 2009 Daytona 500; the most prestigious restrictor-plate race. Jamie McMurray posted Roush Fenway’s last Talladega win, battling Kenseth for the win down to the final restart.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here