Roush Fenway Advance – Texas

Three to Go: Roush Fenway Eyes NASCAR Championships

After a wild race on the short track of Martinsville, Roush Fenway travels west to Texas Motor Speedway to one of its best tracks on the circuit, where the team boasts 15 wins in NASCAR competition, including two this season.

AAA Texas 500
American Muscle

Sun. 11 .6.11, 3:00 p.m. EDT

ESPN, PRN, Sirius 90

David Ragan, No. 6 UPS Ford

Greg Biffle, No. 16 ScotchBlue Painter’s Tape Ford

Matt Kenseth, No. 17 Crown Royal Ford

Carl Edwards, No. 99 Aflac Ford

O’Reilly Auto Parts 500

Fri. 1.5.11, 12:55 p.m. EDT

ESPN2 TV, PRN, Sirius 90

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., No. 6 Blackwell/Sam’s Club Ford

Trevor Bayne, No. 16 Ford

Carl Edwards, No. 60 Fastenal Ford

Roush Fenway Continues to lead Chase

With only three races remaining in the 2011 season, Roush Fenway continues to hold the top position in the Chase for the Sprint Cup. Carl Edwards leads the field by eight points as the teams head down the final stretch of 2011. Matt Kenseth looked to take the lead at Martinsville before a late accident and enters Texas fifth in the points (-36).

The Leader

Headed down the final stretch of the season, Roush Fenway leads both the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series point standings. Carl Edwards leads the Sprint Cup Chase by 8 points. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., holds a 15-point lead in the Nationwide Series standings, and No. 60 NNS Ford trails the Nationwide owner’s points lead by only three points. There are three races remaining in the 2011 NASCAR season.

Roush Fenway at Texas

Overall Roush Fenway has posted 15 wins, 64 top fives, 112 top 10s and five poles, while leading 2,978 laps in combined NASCAR action at Texas Motor Speedway. Roush boasts wins in all three major series at Texas (8 Cup, 6 NNS, 1 Truck).

Roush Sweeps at Texas, First and Last

Roush Fenway won the first Cup (Jeff Burton) and NNS (Mark Martin) races at Texas in 1997. In fact Roush Fenway won the first two Cup races at Texas and three of the first four NNS races at the track. Roush Fenway also swept both series’ at Texas earlier this fall.

Winning at Texas

A total of five different drivers have won a total of 15 NASCAR races at Texas. Three of Roush Fenway’s Sprint Cup drivers have won at TMS (Edwards – 3 times, Kenseth – 2 times and Biffle 2005).

‘08 Sweep

Carl Edwards swept the 2008 Sprint Cup races at Texas Motor Speedway, leading a total of 335 laps in the two events. He is one of only two drivers to win both events at TMS in the same year.

298 and Counting

Roush Fenway enters this weekend looking to score its 300th NASCAR win. The team is two wins away from the mark and will need another Texas sweep to log the milestone victory this weekend.

RFR Texas Wins

1997 Burton Cup

1998 Martin Cup

2002 Kenseth Cup

2005-1 Biffle Cup

2005-2 Edwards Cup

2008-1 Edwards Cup

2008-2 Edwards Cup

2011-1 Kenseth Cup

1997 Martin NNS

1999 Martin NNS

2000 Martin NNS

2007-1 Kenseth NNS

2010-2 Edwards NNS

2011-1 Edwards NNS

2000 Biffle Truck

Roush Fenway Racing is NASCAR’s largest team operating in both the Sprint Cup Series and Nationwide Series with drivers Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle, David Ragan, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., and Trevor Bayne. Celebrating 25 winning years in 2012, Roush Fenway is the leader in NASCAR marketing solutions with its exclusive RoushFenwayOnTrack sponsorship measurement services, motorsport’s only team-focused TV show, and its social marketing channel bringing unmatched brand opportunities to sponsors. Visit, become a fan on Facebook at and follow on Twitter at @roushfenway. For sponsorship inquiries call John Younger at 704.720.4620.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here