OSCAAR Announces Biederman Memorial Format

By Clayton Johns (@cjohnsmedia) – The OSCAAR Super Late Model tour is pleased to announce a new format for the 15th annual Don Biederman Memorial, hosted by Sunset International Speedway on June 29 and 30. The new format will feature 50-lap main events on back-to-back nights along with a new qualifying procedure.

The new format will feature time trials, a single round of heat races, and a last-chance qualifier race. All drivers in attendance will have two laps to lay down their best time in preparation for Saturday’s 50-lap feature. The Biederman event will mark the first time OSCAAR has used a time trial format since the series trip to Sauble Speedway in 2011.

Knightworks Design has sponsored the Fastest Outlaw and will award a $500 bonus to the driver who posts the fastest lap in time trials. The driver who can post the second-quickest time will earn an extra $250. The driver who qualifies slowest will receive an additional $100 as the Hard Luck Qualifier. The top two drivers will be guaranteed their spots on the front row for the feature, however they will be required to start their respective heat races to avoid forfeiting their position.

American Muscle

The results from time trials will help determine the starting order for the only round of Klotz Synthetics qualifying heat races. Each heat race will be 15 laps. The top-qualifier will earn the pole position for heat race one, while the second fastest qualifier will earn the top starting spot in the second heat race. The third-quickest driver will hold the top spot in the third heat. The remaining drivers will be placed in one of the three heats following the same format as the top three drivers (see below).

The top four finishers from each heat race (12 drivers total) will automatically qualify into Saturday’s 50-Lap A-Main event. The remaining drivers will be forced to qualify and determine their starting position through the B-Main last chance qualifier race. The last chance race will determine positions 13-20. Two spots (position 21-22) will be left open as provisional for the drivers who currently sit highest in OSCAAR points who have yet to qualify. The final two spots (position 23-24) will go to the two quickest drivers who have yet to qualify for the main event.

Sunday’s event will not include time trials. Instead, Saturday night’s feature finishing order will determine the starting order for the three heat races, following the same format as Saturday. The top-four drivers in each heat will qualify directly in to the feature. The remaining drivers will race their way in to the show through the B-Main, which will follow the same format as Saturday.

The 2013 Don Biederman Memorial winner will be the driver with lowest combined finish from both Saturday and Sunday’s feature events.

A full schedule of events with times for both competitors and spectators will be available later in the week.

Example: Klotz Synthetics Qualifying Heat Line-Up (Based on Time Trial Results).

Heat 1: Pos. 1, Pos. 4, Pos. 7, Pos. 10, Pos. 13, Pos. 16, Pos. 19, Pos. 22, Pos. 25, Pos. 28, etc.

Heat 2: Pos. 2, Pos. 5, Pos. 8, Pos. 11, Pos. 14, Pos. 17, Pos. 20, Pos. 23, Pos. 26, Pos. 29, etc.

Heat 3: Pos. 3, Pos. 6, Pos. 9, Pos. 12, Pos. 15, Pos. 18, Pos. 21, Pos. 24, Pos. 27, Pos. 30, etc.

The OSCAAR Super Late Model tour is presented by a number of dedicated sponsors throughout Ontario, including: Knightworks Design, Hoosier Racing Tire, Klotz Synthetics Canada, Race2way.ca, Dave Franks Photos, Dickson Printing, Finishline Fabrication, McColl Racing Enterprises, McGunegill Engine Performance, Stefko Racing Engines, VP Racing Fuels, OntarioOval.com, RaceTime Radio, Inside Track Motorsport News, Jenco Equipment, Midas of Orangeville, Reinhart Trailer Sales, North Toronto Auctions, and South Shore Services.


The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here