Statistical Advance: Analyzing Velocity Prairie Thunder 250 At Auto Clearing Motor Speedway

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (July 16, 2013) – The NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 completes its two-race swing through Western Canada with the Velocity Prairie Thunder 250 presented by Bayer CropScience on July 17 at Auto Clearing Motor Speedway in Saskatoon, Sask.. Below is a statistical look at the recent performance of selected drivers at ACMS, as well as some other statistical trends:

ACMS Race Setup

·         In four Saskatoon starts, D.J. Kennington has an average starting position of 2.5 and average finishing spot of 1.8 which includes wins in 2010 and 2012.
American Muscle

·         J.R. Fitzpatrick has a top-10 finish in each of his three ACMS starts.

·         Scott Steckly has top-five finishes in three of his four Saskatchewan starts including a win in the 2009 series debut at the track.

·         A Dodge driver has won all four Saskatoon races.

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series At Auto Clearing Motor Speedway

·         This is the series’ fifth time to compete in Saskatoon at the .333-mile Auto Clearing Motor Speedway.

·         The race’s television premier is scheduled for Sunday, July 28 at 11 a.m. ET on TSN and Friday, Aug. 16 at 11 p.m. ET on RDS2.

·         The Velocity Prairie Thunder in 2009 was the first NASCAR-sanctioned event in the province of Saskatchewan.

·         The event is the only race on the 2012 schedule that is run on a weekday.

·         Each of the first four series events at Auto Clearing have been before sold out crowds.

·         In the previous four races at the track, there has been an average of 5.0 caution periods for 43.5 laps with earliest coming at Lap 11 in 2011 and the latest at Lap 240 in the 2011 event, as well.

·         • In four races at Saskatoon, the average finishing position for the pole sitter is 2.0 and the average starting position for the race winner is 6.5.

·         There has been an average of 7.75 lead changes in three Canadian Tire Series races at ACMS.


Auto Clearing Motor Speedway Data

Race: #6 of 12 (7/17/13)

Track Layout: .333-mile oval

Race Length: 250 laps (83.25 miles)



1-Lap Qualifying: J.R. Fitzpatrick, Chevrolet, 14.665 seconds, 81.801 mph, July 25, 2012

250-Lap Race: D.J. Kennington, Dodge, 1 hr., 17 min., 3 sec., 64.828 mph, Aug. 4, 2010


Race Winners

D.J. Kennington…………………………… 2

Pete Shepherd III………………………….. 1

Scott Steckly………………………………. 1


Pole Winners

D.J. Kennington ………………………….. 2

J.R. Fitzpatrick…………………………….. 1

Don Thomson Jr…………………………… 1


Manufacturer Wins

Dodge ………………………………………. 4


Laps Led

D.J. Kennington………………………… 336

Don Thomson Jr……………………….. 304

J.R. Fitzpatrick………………………….. 137


Selected Driver Information:

Ron Beauchamp Jr. (No. 60 Mopar/Exide/Pennzoil Dodge)

·         Finished seventh a year ago at the Saskatchewan track.

·         Has three top-10 finishes in three starts at ACMS.

·         Scored first top 10 of the season in last start on July 13 at Vernon, B.C.

·         One of four drivers to start all 80 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series races.


Mark Dilley (No. 02 Leland/Beyond Digital Imaging/Dickies Ford)

·         Was the runner-up to D.J. Kennington last season in Saskatoon.

·         Registered a fifth-place finish in the 2011 Saskatchewan event.

·         Has three straight top-10 finishes at ACMS.

·         Has three career Canadian Tire Series wins with the last coming in Sept. 2011 at Barrie (Ont.) Speedway.


Noel Dowler (No. 5 EMCO/Praxair/Safety Kleen Dodge)

·         Finished 16th a year ago in the Velocity Prairie Thunder 250.

·         Placed 13th in his track debut in 2011.

·         Posted a third-place finish last season at Barrie (Ontario) Speedway for his first series top five.


Louis-Philipe Dumoulin (No. 47 WeatherTech Canada/Bellemare Dodge)

·         Finished seventh a season ago in his only career Saskatoon start.

·         Is the series points leader with a two-point lead on D.J. Kennington.

·         Registered his first Canadian Tire Series victory in the season opener on May 19 on the road course at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

·         Scored his first career pole win last season at Trois-Rivieres, Quebec.

·         Was the 2011 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series Rookie of the Year.

·         Made his NASCAR Nationwide Series debut on Aug. 20, 2012 at Montreal’s Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.


J.R. Fitzpatrick (No. 84 Equipment Express Chevrolet)

·         Was the third-place finisher last season in the Velocity Prairie Thunder 250.

·         Finished second in 2010 and ninth in 2011 at ACMS.

·         Has registered three straight top 10s at the .333-mile Saskatchewan track.

·         Has led 137 laps at Saskatoon.

·         Seven of his eight career series wins have come on road courses – CTMP (3), Edmonton (2) and Montreal (2); his oval track win came in July 2007 at Motoplex Speedway.


Jason Hathaway (No. 3 Snap-on Tools/Rockstar Energy Drink Dodge)

·         Finished 21st last season at ACMS.

·         Best track finish of fourth came in the 2009 inaugural event.

·         One of four drivers to start all 80 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series races.


Cameron Hayley (No. 28 Cabinets By Hayley Dodge)

·         Recorded a seventh-place finish in his NCATS debut on July 13 at Vernon, B.C.

·         Won NASCAR K&N Pro Series portion of inaugural UNOH Battle At The Beach in 2013.

·         Finished second in NASCAR K&N Pro Series West debut at 15 years of age.

·         Youngest driver to compete in NASCAR K&N Pro Series West (15 years 23 days at Montana 8/13/11).


D.J. Kennington (No. 17 Castrol Edge/Mahindra Tractors Dodge)

·         Won last year’s Velocity Prairie Thunder 250; also won the 2010 edition.

·         Finished second in 2011 and third in 2009 at the Saskatchewan track.

·         Has top-five finishes in all four of his Auto Clearing starts.

·         Has led a series-best 336 laps at the Vernon track.

·         Tops the all-time Canadian Tire Series wins list with 18.

·         Won 2010 and 2012 series championships.

·         Scored a single-season series record of seven wins in 2012.

·         One of four drivers to start all 80 NCATS races.


Martin Roy (No. 90 Batteries Expert/Gamache Dodge)

·         Finished 10th last season in his only Saskatoon start.

·         Has a top-10 finish in five of last seven series starts dating back to the 2012 season.

·         Won 2012 series Rookie-of-the-Year honors.


Ryley Seibert (No. 09 Lake Excavating/Emco Waterworks Dodge)

·         Finished 13th last season in the Velocity Prairie Thunder 250.

·         Registered a 16th-place finish in his track debut in 2011.

·         Leads series Rookie-of-the-Year standings this season.


Scott Steckly (No. 22 Canadian Tire Dodge)

·         Finished fourth a year ago in Saskatoon.

·         Won the 2009 inaugural event at ACMS.

·         Has led 128 laps on the half-mile tri-oval.

·         His 12 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series victories rank third on the all-time list.

·         Won 2008 and 2011 series championships.

·         One of four drivers to start all 80 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series races.


Jason White (No. 21 Bowers & Wilkins Dodge)

·         Finished 20th a year ago at ACMS.

·         Best finish in four starts in Saskatoon was ninth in 2009.

·         Was 2008 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series Rookie of the Year.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here