Andrew Gresel wins Midas of Orangeville 50 at Kawartha Speedway

Rookie Andrew Gresel would score his second OSCAAR Super Late Model feature victory of the season as he led flag-to-flag at Kawartha Speedway on Sunday evening.

Points leader Brandon Watson won the first heat ahead of Shane Maginnis, Gresel, Derrike Tiemersma, Rudy Oppersma, Tyler Hawn and Craig Stevenson.

Glenn Watson won the second heat ahead of Jesse Kennedy, Dwayne Baker, Wayne Issacs, Ian Bourque, Ethan Cournyea and Todd Campbell.
American Muscle

Rob Clarke won the third heat ahead of Mike Beyore, Jeff Hanley, John Owen, Jim Bowman and Gary Passer.

Derrike Tiemersma won the fourth heat ahead of Gresel, Maginnis, Brandon Watson, Hawn, Oppersma and Stevenson.

Jesse Kennedy won the fifth heat ahead of Glenn Watson, Baker, Issacs, Bourque, Cournyea and Campbell.

Clarke went for the daily double ahead of Beyore, Hanley, Owen and Bowman.

Andrew Gresel would start pole in the feature ahead of Kennedy, Brandon Watson, Glenn Watson, Beyore, Clarke, Maginnis, Tiemersma, Issacs, Baker, Owen, Bourque, Bowman, Oppersma, Hawn, Cournyea, Passer, Campbell and Stevenson.

The initial start wouldn’t be ago as Gresel jumped it. However, the second attempt went off without a hitch as Gresel led Brandon Watson while Kennedy and Glenn Watson battled for third. Glenn Watson would clear Kennedy on lap two before Bowman would spin, collecting Cournyea in the process.

Photo Credit: Ashley McCubbin
Photo Credit: Ashley McCubbin

On the restart, Gresel would hold the lead once again ahead of Brandon Watson while Maginnis would get sideways while running mid-pack through turns one and two due to contact from Clarke, but managed to keep it straight and kept it going. However, there’d still be a caution as Passer would spin off of turn two.

Gresel held the lead on the restart ahead of Brandon Watson, Glenn Watson and Kennedy while Maginnis and Beyore battled for fifth. Maginnis would hold Beyore off.

On lap 19, the third caution flew when Beyore would have problems in turn two. Also at the same time, Derrike Tiemersma would have a rear end let go, resulting in oil around the entire oval. The result was a lengthy clean-up that included a red flag with the cars stopped so they could clean the speedy dry off of the windshields as a result of the dust from the clean-up.

With 41 laps to go, Gresel would lead Brandon Watson, Glenn Watson, Kennedy, Maginnis, Clarke, Baker, Owen, Bourque, Hawn, Campbell, Passer, Cournyea, Issacs and Bowman.

Gresel would hold the lead on the restart ahead of Brandon Watson, Kennedy, Clarke and Glenn Watson. Glenn Watson would then fall back to fifth after being passed by Maginnis before the fourth caution flew for Brandon Watson stalling on the frontstretch.

Brandon Watson would be pushed back to pit road where his team would diagnose an ignition problem. Once it was fixed, Watson rejoined the race later on, a couple laps down.

Brandon Watson had his problems at lap 33 so with 17 laps to go, Gresel leads Kennedy, Clarke, Campbell, Glenn Watson, Baker, Hawn, Bourque, Issacs, Owen, Cournyea, Passer and Bowman.

Gresel got another good start as he got away from the field ahead of Clarke, Kennedy and Maginnis while Glenn Watson and Baker battled for fifth. They’d battle all the way till the caution at lap 34 for Owen having problems in turn four.

The top six remained the same all the way till the next caution for Issacs slowing in turn one.

On that restart, the top four would remain the same with Gresel leading Clarke, Kennedy and Maginnis, however Baker would get by Glenn Watson for fifth. Baker would continue him climb, passing Maginnis for fourth. Baker cracked the podium with a pass on Kennedy while Watson got by Maginnis for fifth. Watson would continue his climb, passing Kennedy for fourth.

However, at the front, Andrew Gresel held serve and picked up his second career victory in the Midas of Orangeville 50 after picking up a win earlier this year at Sauble Speedway. Rob Clarke would finish second in his first start with the series since his problems at Barrie Speedway back in June. Dwayne Baker would round out the podium for his fourth top three in four features run this year. Glenn Watson and Jesse Kennedy rounded out the top five followed by Shane Maginnis and Tyler Hawn.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here